Glasgow

After almost 12 years at the Sanger Institute, I’ve now moved to the Institute of Biodiversity, Animal Health and Comparative Medicine at the University of Glasgow. I’ll also be part of the Wellcome Centre for Integrative Parasitology. The Parasite Genomics group at Sanger is gradually disappearing..

It’s been a great experience in Glasgow so far, and I’m looking forward to being in Scotland full time once we’ve sold our house and moved children, dog and chickens North.. at the moment i’m travelling up every few weeks. I think there are lots of opportunities to work with the many interesting people in Glasgow. Most obviously, my existing collaborators on anthelminthic resistance are in Glasgow and elsewhere in Scotland, and Matt Berriman has also moved to Glasgow. There are also lots of other great parasitologists, including Schistosoma and Leishmania people, but also really strong communities of epidemiologists, vector biologists, and evolutionary biology people.

It is also the same department (with some mergers and name changes through the years) that I did my PhD with Rod Page in over 20 years ago, so its a little like coming home.

James Cotton
James Cotton
Professor

My research interests are in the genomics, and particularly population genomics of parasites, particularly those that cause neglected tropical diseases